Nowadays, many workers have full-time jobs with extremely hectic schedules.

Nowadays, many workers have full-time jobs with extremely hectic schedules. This caused them to have a significantly narrow space for entertainment activities. This essay will argue why the disadvantages of this phenomenon eclipse the possible advantages as it will ultimately lead to a great deal of stress on people and lower their productivity in the long-term. Initially, if people do not have breaks from their jobs, they will be more vulnerable to pressure. In other words, employees must have spare time where they can relieve stress and enjoy recreational activities. This because without proper leisure time, people will collapse from constant pressure. This will naturally lead to psychological disorders and poor mental health. This was highlighted by the World Health Organization, where it was reported that more than 60% of Wallstreet employees who have relatively no time for entertainment activities fall victim to psychological disorders as a result of the vicious work pressure cycle. Furthermore, employees who do not have time for leisure activity have relatively lower production rates. This is clear when they are compared to their counterparts who have spare time for relaxation and pressure relief. According to a survey by Bloomberg magazine, in Google company, employees have plenty of time for leisure activities which resulted in a significant increase in their productivity and a noticeable improvement in their mental state. In conclusion, while long working hours may reflect more dedication and devotion to the job, it certainly has many pernicious implications on workers' mental health and productivity in the long term. This will run the risk of employees to either quit their jobs or become less competent.