Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people tend to learn more languages other than their mother tongue. It is thought by some people that; the primary reason for learning a language of another nation is to travel or gaining better work experience. Whereas the rest say that owing to other benefits of learning a foreign language, these can't be the only reasons. This essay will discuss both views in depth. There are growing number of people who think that learning a foreign language may prove to be beneficial only if someone have to travel to another country or he/she wants to settle down there for professional work. As they can make visit to any part without hesitating to speak in their own language and can make business exchanges more easily. For instance, a report in "The tribune" justifies that successful businessmen know more than one language and are able to increase their economic growth more rapidly. Therefore, owing to this having access to a new language of other country can prove to be beneficial both for tourism and work life, unless it is not required. On the contrary, the rest of the population believes that having known a foreign language is not only effective for travelling and work but also have other advantages. Firstly, Because it opens the senses and increases the I. Q level of the learner and make him/her more intelligent in other fields. Secondly, it helps us to learn about cultures of a lot of nations. As while learning we come across a lot of knowledge from which we used to unknown before. To illustrate, Stanford case study reports that the children of their university who knows more foreign languages tend to consume every bit of knowledge and have leadership skills as they can mix up easily with any other international student. Consequently, knowing any foreign language helps in either way out.