Nowadays many people prefer large supermarkets rather than local shops why is this happening it is a positive or negative trend give your own opinion with relevant examples

In these days, choice for departmental stores have proliferated among individuals and only handful of people are attracted by shops of their locality due to various reasons. I personally feel that it is beneficial as well as passive trend. To begin with, there are countless reasons for increasing preference of people towards large retailing. Firstly, these markets provide goods under one roof with low cost as wide variety of goods are available to customers at one place having discounts and offers and articles are kept on racks with labelled price and quality of every product, consequently it is good source of consumer attraction. That's why a gigantic chunk of people visit these shops. Apart from these causes, it has further given way to a number of beneficial trends. The first considerable point is that side residents don't ought to sacrifice with regard to quality, whether the commodities are economical on the contrary these stores provide the branded and high quality products as compared to residential shops that deals with low quality goods. For instance, the survey conducted by food corporation to check quality of goods at hypermarkets and shops of locality in India. Mega stores proved to be of high quality as compared to residential shops. Hence, it has proved beneficial for people. Nevertheless, despite beneficial outcomes, it gives way to a number of adverse effects. Firstly, uneducated person are not only unable to read the labelled stuff, on the contrary also checking price is major concern among them. Due to lack of guidance by anyone, they are not able to make accurate choice for themselves at supermarkets, however local shopkeepers guide them about the features and quality of product personally, and they are able to purchase the best one for them. Hence, these retail outlets are passive outcomes in case of personal attention. To conclude, all the superstars surpass the local shops in qualitative and quantitative aspects on the contrary the local markets have their own significance.