Many local languages today are dying out due to the rise of languages like English. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a great threat of regional vernacular going extinct with global languages on rise. In my opinion it is a positive development. This essay will discuss A great number of languages are derived from a culture and ethos of a tribe. Loosing them will cremate a part of human history and possibility of termination of some indigenous traditions. Many rituals are handed down in their native tongue, due to which a discrepancy in their life style can be expected. For example, India with many cultures is a home to 22 recognized languages and hundreds of various dialects and unrecognized languages. In the past decade, with assimilation and learning of Hindi and English, there have been dearth of speakers for few of those and forcing them to become antiquated. Over the time, youngsters follow global and national trends instead of local ones, putting the cultures at risk. Although there is necessity of preservation due to aforementioned reasons, the progress that could be witnessed by learning English cannot be overlooked. It has become a universal and working language; focus is on mastering it right from the childhood which can benefit them immensely and present good career opportunities. As local languages are not widely spoken, the benefits are limited to that specific region. Proficiency in a language is largely spoken by most of the world, opens new opportunities to travel and settle down where the living conditions are second to none. In conclusion, it is inevitable that small languages would disappear and it is positive from the perspective of utility to others. It would be largely appreciated if there is way to conserve the ancient way of life and their lingo.