Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

With the advancement of information technology, computers have become accessible to everyone, making computer games more convenient and readily available, even for children. However, there are several adverse effects of its overuse, which will be discussed in this essay in detail with some solutions to mitigate their impact. Overplaying computer games can be quite detrimental to the physical growth of children. Long-term entertainment with such games makes them prone to weak eyesight and obesity, leading to some serious complications. Moreover, it also affects their psychological development, making them antisocial, violent or depressive. For instance, a study by U. K Paediatric Association revealed that children who are introduced to computer games such as Candy Crush at an early age have a tendency to turn perilous and are generally late in achieving their developmental milestones. Thus, spending all the time playing computer games may hinder the overall development of children. However, with adequate measures, these negative effects can be reversed. Firstly, the family or child’s guardian should pique their interest in outdoor activities by planning picnics or playing games with them. Secondly, school authorities should encourage them to play interactive sports or engage in other creative activities like painting and music. They may also organize trekking or hiking trips so that children can learn to appreciate nature. Also, parents may set strict schedules for children to play computer games or may reward them with computer playtime when they do something worthy In conclusion, computer games may be harmful, but with proper control and care, their bad influence can be minimized. However, this can be done only with the help of both the parents and the school staff.