In some areas around the world, people are reviving the use of bicycle, while in some other parts the use of bicycles is fading away in favour of cars and motorbikes -what are the factors involved? what are the effects?

Although first world nations are becoming increasingly interested in bicycle usage, this scenario is just opposite in third-world nations. This essay will discuss both the causes and effects of this approach. At the outset, environment and health are the main reasons behind the inclination of people towards bicycles, especially in developed countries. As less carbon is emitted from bicycles, so it has zero negative effects on the atmosphere. Moreover, because bicycling is considered as the best exercise, it could be used to take the health benefits. For instance, people who prefer bicycles over cars are found more healthy in a report published by the Health Department. Whereas, the use of cars could result in environmental degradation and passive lifestyle. Similarly, the civilians of the developing country tend to purchase cars and motorbikes rather than bicycles because of economic development. Increase in wages has made it possible to use cars as the main transport medium. Also, in such parts of the world, people consider cars as a vehicle of an affluent society. Thus, by purchasing a four-wheeler they can maintain their status in the local community. Moving towards the possible effects of this approach, by using bicycles, people can not only become more healthy but also it would be beneficial for the upliftment of the environment. It is because of no petroleum products are used to operate the bicycles. By reducing the dependency on fossil fuels, people can play their part to protect precious bio resources otherwise lack of resources could be detrimental for future generations. In the case of more preference to cars, in other parts of the world, would result in carbon emission from vehicles. Delhi is one of such metro cities already being suffered from polluted air affected badly because of the increment in vehicles. Also, it can increase traffic problems that would further lead to traffic jams and much valuable time of society will be wasted during communication. In conclusion, both the increment decrement in the bicycle use has different causes, while in some countries this trend has positive effects such as in the field of health and environment, others might be affected due to polluted air and traffic problems.