Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of children playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

Computers in today's world are widely accessible to a lot of people and a huge number of children are using them for playing computer games. This essay will discuss the harmful effects of children playing computer games and suggest possible solutions to minimize them. Children nowadays are playing virtual games more than before which is affecting their mental health drastically. Most of the computer games have a lot of violence in them and it has detrimental effect on the brain of a child. For example, recent studies have shown that violence in video games can cause violent behaviour in a child. Moreover, spending more time on these games can make children really dull as they are immersed in to a virtual world and forget reality. All these can really bad for child’s mental state. There are few solutions for these problems like limiting the number of hours spend on the computer and participating in physical activities. When children limit their time on computers they get more time to spend on leisure activities. Physical exercises are the best way to fill those free times. Participating in sports make them physically as well as mentally tough. For instance, doctors always recommend daily 30 minutes of exercise can reduce mental stress. All these things can really help in mental health issues in children. To conclude, computer games can affect children’s mental health in a bad way but this can be reduced by spending less hours on computer and participating more in outdoor physical activities.