Write about the following topic. Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

After the birth of the digital age, it opened many doors for people to explore and a big aspect of technology that kept everyone getting hooked onto it is its entertainment value. One specific area to this and which children love to dwell the most is playing computer games. While some argue that playing computer games will bear negative consequences to children, others beg to differ. On one hand, playing computer games can enhance their critical thinking and focus because there are games that require the higher cognitive ability to pass any obstacles or level up thus exercising these functions which could be useful in real life. In a more practical sense, the world is now in the digital age and these games will gear them into knowing computer literacy which will become a fundamental skill in the future. Also, playing video games for children will open doors for them to meet new friends and build connections. As there are now online communities that are built for different games and are welcoming peers to join and discuss strategies or giving tips to win a game or just to meet new friends. On the other hand, children playing computer games could have negative consequences as well such as getting addicted to them which could result in decreased performance in school. Furthermore, children will be exposed to violent behaviors and explicit content as there is an increasing number of games that show killings, gruesome effects, and/or objectifying women. Lastly, when children get addicted to playing computer games, they will have lesser physical activity thus leading to obesity and cardiovascular diseases when they grow up. It is already proven with different studies that having a sedentary lifestyle will have a detrimental effect on one’s health. In summary, children playing video games have positive and negative effects. It is already known that playing computer games can improve cognitive functions but playing too much will result in unwanted consequences.