Write about the following topic. Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Access to computers has increased significantly over recent decades, and the number of children playing games on computers has increased too. While I accept that these games can sometimes have a positive effect on the user, I believe that they are more likely to have a harmful impact. With regards to the positive effects, playing computer games can develop children’s cognitive skills. Many popular games require abstract and high level thinking skills in order to win, skills that may not be taught at school. For example, children need to follow instructions, solve complex problems and use logic in many of the games that are currently popular. Such experience will be beneficial to a child’s progression into an adult. However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Concerns have been raised about the prolific use of computer games by children, much of this related to the violence they contain. The problem is that in many of the games children are rewarded for being more violent, and this violence is repeated again and again.  For instance, many games involve children helping their character to kill, kick, stab and shoot. This may lead to increased aggressive feelings, thoughts, and behaviours. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of video games are more significant than the possible benefits.