Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

Today computers are available to a wider audience than ever before and the younger generations grow up with them being an essential part of their everyday life. The majority of these children also use video games to make time fly by and the number of these people grow by the day. This increasing tendency could prove to be beneficial for them as they grow more accustomed to technology, but they may also leave their mark on the social skills and self-esteem of these children. Many people argue, that having people gathering experience through an enjoyable medium from an early age, will greatly benefit them throughout their lives. They reason, that having a positive outlook on computers and seeing them as familiar as possible can be encouraged by playing video games, as they make children appreciate computers and the many possibilities they provide. Consequently, if they grow up this way, they can enter adult life armed with a deeper knowledge and familiarity, than those lacking video games in their childhood. Others see a bleaker side of the youth spending their precious time on playing video games. They are of the opinion that the toxic environment which is present in online video games, just as much as in any other online community, could deal a great amount of damage to gamers’ self-esteem. This damage paired with the addictive nature of most video games makes them one of the most dangerous, yet mostly unregulated factor, that leads people to develop antisocial behaviour, especially if they are already more inclined to these mental issues. In conclusion, as with any manmade invention, video games also come with their fair share of advantages and disadvantages. They may encourage people to be more familiar with technology and to gather more and more knowledge about the subject, but they may very well cause mental issues, which could outweigh their positive effects.