Nowadays, many people complain that they lack sleep. What are the problems and solutions?

Sleeping disorder has become a serious issue in our modern world. More and more people reported that they struggle to get enough sleep every day and this affects greatly on their social and personal life. Not only does lack of sleep make people exhausted, but it can also lead to long-term diseases or life-threatening accidents. If not dealt with properly, this condition will reduce one’s life quality in the long run or even cost their life. The very first effect of not getting enough sleep is the tiredness the next day. Over a long period of time, it can cause fatigue, which is a more serious form of being tired. When the body gets fatigue, the nerve system does not function properly anymore and can cause human to act in a strange way. The lack of sleep means not enough oxygen is supplied to the brain and the result can be similar to heavy intoxication, just like drunk people. A fatigued person can make accidents during their work or driving on the street. Many cases happened in the past when workers harmed their body due to falling asleep at work, especially those who operate heavy machines. In the same way, many traffic accidents were caused by sleeping drivers. If people cannot get enough of good-quality sleep for months or years, they might have to suffer from serious health issues such as decreased immune system and memory loss. Proper sleep is crucial for the human body to regain its energy and rebuild lost tissues due to the activities throughout the day. Without enough hours of resting, the body’s organs get affected immensely. Particularly, the brain cells get damaged, and, unfortunately, this is an irreversible effect and will lead to loss of memory. I myself was a flight attendant and suffered daily from the mixed-up sleeping schedule. As a result, my short-term memory actually decreased significantly after years of flying, which was really alarming. No matter how much rest I get now after quitting the job, the damage is there to stay. Not only the brain suffers from the lack of sleep, but the immune system also goes down year after year, which makes our body become more vulnerable to viruses and deceases. To effectively solve the problem, people need to learn how to get a high-quality sleep, starting from practicing good sleeping habits. Mobile phones and other electronic devices should be avoided as much as possible when it is the resting time. It is best not to charge phones near your bed to keep it out of reach, which will prevent people from being attempted or waken up by ringtones and vibrations. Drinking a cup of warm milk or some chocolate is also a great way to calm the body down and help the sleepiness comes more easily. Besides, a quiet, cool and dark space with a cozy bed can facilitate deeper sleeping. Lastly, doing light exercises before bed helps a lot in gaining a good night’s sleep. Generally speaking, lack of sleep can be very harmful to our body and can be extremely dangerous in some cases. Therefore, it is crucial that people get enough sleep by practicing healthy habits and creating a suitable environment for sleeping.