Because of the Covid-19 pandemic, schools across the globe have been forced to go online. Many people think that even when the pandemic is over, schools should still deliver their courses over the Internet. Do you think education should be conducted entirely online?

It has been 2 years since the COVID-19 pandemic started to turn our routine upside down. As the whole world tries to adapt to the new lifestyle, schools are among the most struggled when it comes to online classes. Online platforms are quickly developed in order to help catching up with the timetables. Although they have proven themselves to be surprisingly effective as teachers and students are getting used to them, I think it would be practically impossible to fully rely on the Internet when the pandemic is over. One of the most problematic issue is that it needs certain devices in order to attend online classes, and they are not always affordable. Many families that have been living in poverty for decades, and such smartphones or computers are too luxurious for them. Their kids tend to depend on the neighbors to share their equipment, which prevents them from studying on their own. Governments have spent huge amounts of money to support those in need, but it would severely affect the national economy in the long run. Practice has proved that students still need face-to-face interactions to maximize their study at school. Problems can still occur when we are trying to go online, as the internet connection is not always good enough for the lesson to be delivered perfectly to every student. To make things worse, unexpected accidents such as a power cut can greatly reduce the leaning quality, and replaying videos takes a considerable amount of time. Additionally, studying without physical interaction prevents students from developing communication skills. It cannot be denied that studying on the internet is just a temporary solution to the situation so far, and normal classes still play an important role at school. Consequently, it is recommended that schools go offline when after the social distancing scheme to recover productivity.