If school has limited funding, it should spend money on sports

School is a place where students prepare themselves for adult lives both intellectually and emotionally. Of course, sports, arts and volunteering are the good ways to achieve the goal. But these means all deserve financial support from the school authority. When the funding is limited and only one of them can be funded, I would definitely go for sports. First of all, this policy can bring numerous benefits to students. Everybody knows working out is good for both body and mind. During schooldays students have been used to a sedentary lifestyle, which has been linked with an increased risk of obesity and depression. But what if they are now encouraged to attend extracurricular activities like hockey, soccer, gymnastics, swimming, karate and so on? Besides being more energetic and athletic, they can also experience the joy of cooperation and competition. Plus, sports activities provide a temporary escape, enabling children to take their mind off study for a while and then go back to schoolwork refreshed. According a recent survey, kids who exercise 30 minutes a day five times a week, enjoy better overall brain health, reduced stress, increased creativity and clearer thinking. And the school itself is another beneficiary. It is because athletics is a great way to draw attention to a school. When schools get attention, they also get funding. This can be a big deal for schools since private donors determines how much can be invested in scholarships, facilities, and paying top professors. Therefore, the more weight a school lays to its sports programs, the more potential athletic stars it will produce, and the more potential donors it will attract. Besides, notable alumni also lend their names to a school. Knowing that Michael Jordan went to Laney High School will encourage many other aspiring basketball players to apply there. This school will get to choose the most promising ones, thus continuing the legacy of its fame. Sure, arts and volunteering do benefit students in their own way. Arts can promote students’ appreciation for beauty and volunteer jobs help children show more tolerance and empathy to people around. But the fact is, arts makes little sense unless it is comprehended based on a certain level of passion and interest. High schoolers who are normally drawn to pop cultures wouldn’t necessarily gain much from ancient paintings and sculptures. As for volunteering, community service has already covered such activities, which means schools can divert funds to more needed projects. So if the authority has to tighten its grip on funding the campus activities, arts and volunteering can be crossed off the priority list. To sum up, I’m not saying arts and volunteering are less important, but with limited school funds, sports can be a more effective way to put that money into good use.