Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep

While in the past, people used to get many hours of night's rest, nowadays, it is not the case. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend and explain the impact it has on individuals and those around them. One main factor causing people to sleep less at night is family obligations. Sole earners are responsible for the needs of their immediate and extended families, so they do more than one job, which may involve working until late at night. In developing countries, for example, it is a common trend for people to operate taxi services after their usual office work so as to generate additional income. Another factor is traffic. Many cities suffer vehicle gridlock especially in the mornings when everyone is in a hurry, so most people wake up and leave their house before dawn in order to avoid getting stuck in traffic. The effects of sleep deprivation can be extremely harmful. Firstly, it could lead to ill health. The human body needs at least seven to ten hours of sleep in order for the brain to function efficiently. If this is lacking, people might suffer from mental health problems. For example, a recent study revealed that people who stay up late are prone to memory loss. Secondly, it affects daily interaction. When people are stressed out as a result of insufficient rest, they find it challenging to create time for fun with family members or friends. Thus, their life becomes monotonous. Submit Task For Review ($6) To conclude, many people are not getting the right amount of rest their body needs because they need to make a living and want to start their day early. As a result, not only their health is affected but also their relationships.