A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Over the last decades or two, tourism industry has become one of the major sources of income and the economy of many places around the globe depends mainly upon it. It has become a kind of argument whether this development positive, or are there more drawbacks than the advantages. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons the tourism and try to draw some conclusion. I will start by looking at the advantages. One of the major pluses of this ongoing development of tourism industry is that it creates a lot of jobs opportunities for the local people. There are many economic areas which is solely dependent upon the tourists, may be the airway business, hotel management or even the local cuisine restaurant and the souvenir shops are mainly focused on the travelers. It is undoubtedly a positive trend. Secondly, the travelling industry do have a lot of impacts on the overall development of a country. Take New Zealand for example, where the country itself is regarded as a brand for having so many natural wonders, attracts millions of tourists every year and the revenue those gets from the industry are spent on the other important aspects of the country or on the improvement of the tourist attraction places. Consequently, the country has become one of the most developed countries in the world. Turning to the other side of the argument, there are some negative impacts of the tourism such as increase in the environmental pollution and cultural difference. The huge number of tourists that come to the attraction could easily damage the environment by littering on the public places or on streets. But this problem could be tackled by introducing some strict law against the irresponsible littering. Another thing is that the tourist might devalued the culture or the traditions of the country they visited. To illustrate, in all temple or monetary in the Asian countries, people are not allowed to enter with the shows on and many western people are unaware about it so it can cause a lot of misunderstanding between the locals and the travelers. However, this issue can be solved by a simple sign board. All thing considered, there are advantages and disadvantages in almost everything and the tourism is not an exception. However, we need to weigh up pros of the development of the country as a whole and the cons of the environmental damage and cultural differences. I personally think that the benefits of this development totally outweigh any negative outcome.