Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues.

Olympics is one of the most highly-anticipated events that only happens once every four years. Although some people argue that Olympic games unite people from various countries, other believe that Olympics’ monetary fund could be used for other pressing issues as well. In my opinion, while it is true that Olympics is a lucrative event, it can also showcase the country’s rich culture and boost the tourism industry of the host country. Critics argue that since Olympics is a massive event, it also requires huge monetary budget from the government. However, this can be challenging for third-world nations, such as Brazil. To illustrate, Brazil was the host country in 2016 Olympics. During this time, many Brazilians held protests as they believe that their government had spent too much money on an event that would only last for a month. Instead of spending millions of dollars in Olympics, a vast majority of citizens believe that the money spent should have been allocated to other social issues such as poverty and education which are very critical in Brazil, as well as improving the infrastructure used by millions, or build hospitals in rural areas. These allocations of the federal budget would not only serve an immediate purpose but also have a longer lasting effect than the Olympics. Nonetheless, enormous sports events like Olympics brings solidarity to one’s nation as every citizen around the world would cheer and support their own country. In addition, Olympics is also the perfect time to showcase around the world the host country’s rich culture. For example, when the Olympics was held in China in 2012, numerous people were astonished how spectacular the performances, as well as the fireworks display during the opening and closing ceremony. The Chinese government clearly display their rich and diverse cultures from Martial arts performances down to their national dance and costume. Lastly, every Olympics event brings a huge increase in tourists and enormous boost in tourism. As a matter of fact, Japan, who will be the host country for the next Olympics, expected to have hundred of millions of tourists to arrive in Tokyo to witness the sports event. In conclusion, though Olympics entails a huge federal budget, it is also bringing tremendous value to one’s country. Therefore, every country should consider hosting the game as a great honour.