The Fourth Industrial Revolution

Currently, some concepts such as artificial intelligence (AI), Internet of Things (IoT) are very familiar to humanity, and the event that makes these concepts popular around the world is The Fourth Industrial Revolution that took place in the early years of the 21st century. According to Wikipedia, The Fourth Industrial Revolution (4IR or Industry 4. 0) is the constant use of contemporary smart technologies to automate conventional manufacturing and industrial procedures. In the early years of the 21st century, business owners increased their need to control and better understand every aspect of their operations. And they got what they needed from the 4IR, which provided a more integrated and comprehensive approach to production. It bridges the gap between the real and digital worlds, allowing departments, partners, suppliers, products, and people to work together more effectively. Industry 4. 0 has had a major impact on industry worldwide. On the positive side, first, Wikipedia states that 4IR has aided in improving efficiency, lowering operational costs, and boosting sales and profit. This also leads to increased productivity. After that, this Revolution also aids businesses in providing better customer service by allowing them to track client feedback in real time. On the other hand, this Revolution still has many challenges associated with its implementation. The first is in terms of economics when it is clear that the adoption of new technologies will create a huge cost. Then there are social issues when according to Wikipedia, when applying technology to the production process, “blue collar workers” will face unemployment when it is clear that the productivity and efficiency of machines are better than humans. To sum up, the Fourth Industrial Revolution will bring great benefits to the industry. However, there are many challenges as well as difficulties that 4IR has been and will have to go through in deploying it worldwide.