Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It has been a trend that a number of people opt to be self-employed instead of hiring by any sector. In this essay, the reasons contributing this phenomenon will be addressed, and the demerits of it will be presented. In terms of the reasons of increasing numbers of being self-hired, rapid development of technology is an essential factor. Bombarded by information provided by technology, modern people are with abundant choice to develop their ideal working patterns, such as earning money by their own interests, reducing the commuting time to workplace and paying less attention on discipline from sectors. Furthermore, with the trend by globalization, human society has become more competitive. Thus, people were taught to learn multiple subjects to ensure them would not be eliminated after growing up. With this educational background, they are capable for starting different tasks from every fields with ease that urge them to be self-employed. As for negative aspects for being self-employed, financial concern would be the most important one to consider. With the rising population of self-sufficiency, the shared tasks, however, are far less than that. There would become more competitive, and the income for every self-hired people is unstable. Moreover, mental illness may be prevalent among them because somber emotions are easier to happen for them. According to the statistic data of a health magazine in Taiwan, due to working as self-employment, the risk for them to get mental problem is ten time more than those hired by companies. In conclusion, there is true that people can gain benefits from being self-employed, caused by technological development and globalization. However, they have potential for lacking income and having mental sickness easily.