Many people think that we have to focus on the extinction of certain animal species, while others think that we should pay attention to the problem of human beings.

Nowadays, more and more people concern about protecting endangered animal species. However, some people think that solving issues related to human beings should be prioritised. In this essay, I shall provide both point of views and give my personal opinion about this topic. On one hand, as it is widely known that the animal biodiversity in tropical countries such as Indonesia and Philippine should be maintained for keeping the balance of nature. Unfortunately, the number of exotic animals in those countries, namely one-horned rhinoceros, orangutans, Sumatran tigers, and elephants, is decreasing year by year. This phenomenon is caused by several reasons, for example illegal-logging and illegal-hunting. The government has built natural conservations and enforced the law to tackle this issue. On the other hand, building natural conservations and relocating those animals require huge amount of budget while those developing countries are still struggling with improving the social welfare. Several social issues, such as crimes, poverty, sexual violence, uneducated people, and child labour, need to be solved. The government needs to allocate huge amount of money to do some improvements, such as building schools in some remote areas, creating more job opportunities, funding for elderly people, and so on. These social issues need to be solved as soon as possible if a country want to develop quickly, so the government can focus on animal welfare after that. I am certain that focusing on both issues at the same time is not realistic for developing countries, considering our limited budget. To sum up, although preventing the extinction of endangered animal species is important, I believe improving social welfare should be prioritised, especially in developing countries such as Indonesia and Philippine.