Nowadays, many people buy household goods (like television, rice cookers etc). Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Modern technologies have changed the way people live over the half century. These days, a number of people purchase household appliances (like television, rice cookers etc. ) In my opinion, the use of household apparatus is undoubtedly a positive development which makes people’s life easier, and entertains and educates them despite some drawbacks. Household items have improved people’s life quality. One clear evidence of this is that household goods such as washing machine and vacuum cleaner made life easier. For example, people, who use washing machine and a smart cleaner, save their time and energy instead of spending it on cleaning or washing by hand. In other words, they can spare the time, which require to clean and wash, for their children and loved ones. Therefore, household items are time-effective and energy-saving, which alleviate their household chores in daily life. Household apparatus like television and home cinema system offer a variety of opportunities for people. Put simply, a television is not only a great tool to watch TV shows and to get news, but also an educational and entertaining tool, which is able to get together a family. For instance, watching a foreign film expands your horizon, teach you about other cultures, and helps you learn new languages. Moreover, television, which offers a variety of TV programmes, from comedy to documentary, is the greatest medium to spend quality time with family members. However, is television totally useful for people? It is likely that television may have a negative impact on individuals, which leads to health issues. The main reason is that excessive TV watching may result in obesity. To illustrate, people, who view TV excessively, tend to do less physical exercise and which, in turn, they will not burn calorie and fat by sitting in the front of the TV. As a result of this, they face health problems like obesity and gain weight. However, as long as people watch TV by setting a limit, they can avoid concerning health issues. In conclusion, individuals prefer buying household appliances such as television, wending machine and vacuum cleaner. In my opinion, the use of these modern apparatus is a positive development because of that, they make life easier, save time and energy, and have informative and entertaining features, despite a few of the drawbacks.