Nowadays many people believe that children should be taught history in schools, however, others argue that children should learn subjects that are more helpful for modern everyday life.

The education curriculum of primary and secondary school has been always a debatable topic. Most people argue that the syllabus should have subjects on dealing with day to day activities, while others advocate that history should be a mandatory subject. In my opinion, I agree that children should have education in managing life and this essay will discuss both situations and support my stand. There is no doubt that history has been an important subject for everyone, we have learned many things such as Renaissance, about wars and non-cooperation movements through historical books. It would be integral for children of today learning and understanding what preceding generations has gone through to get, what they are getting easily. For example, right to vote for females was not there in previous centuries, however, now it mandatory for any gender to vote. Alternatively, this subject can teach many things pertaining to bigger challenges, though it is not suitable for overcoming daily life hurdles. Managing life has become a tedious job for young people and dealing with it is not taught. Many students are in a state of shock once they are employed and realisation happens that they did not study about this in the school, for instance, dealing with finances, paying bills and behaving with colleagues. They are often confused and they do not know how to manage their everyday life while educational institute still favour theoretical subjects which has zero relevances after school. If they are taught about taxes, medical exigencies and gender equality, then the world would become a better place as the children are getting conditioned with the reality of tomorrow. In conclusion, even though a person spends 14 years in completing studies, he/she is still confused and need training to deal with daily processes. While, history can give us lessons to curtail bigger problems, subjects which helps in dealing with life can make the world nicer and more livable.