Nowadays, many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried out by private companies, individuals or government?

It is often deemed that medicine and research have led to the development of mankind, and in the present era, private conglomerates are funding these medical research projects. As per my view, this should be done by government bodies because they would use it for the betterment of society as a whole. Why are private firms investing heavily on such projects? Well, simply because they can benefit with the outcomes of it. To elaborate, they will transform the result into an expensive medicine or vaccine and later earn profit from it. If not that then, patent it immediately in order to earn a constant mode of income. For instance, there are a plethora of multi-national companies selling pharmaceutical drugs and earning billions. Therefore, they invest more in research. They not only have sufficient funds to carry out such projects but also can utilise for the well-being of their citizens. In other words, Authorities receive taxes from its inhabitants which, in turn, is used for the various sectors of the economy, therefore, they can invest some part of it for the research and development, which would support the researchers to carry out it without the stress of funding and eventually increase the effectiveness along with the efficiency. To illustrate, a recent article by the “The Times” reported that the government funded project named “Curing the sick” invented the cure of T. B. and now they will be producing vaccine for the same. Hence, government can play an indispensable role in the research and development. To recapitulate, private organizations are making enormous profits by research, consequently, they are investing more on it. Nevertheless, I state that the government must take initiative to do research as it will not only benefit the society but also the researchers.