Nowadays, many high schools and universities enroll students having international English language certificates such as IELTS, TOEFL, TOEIC…is it a positive or negative policy?

In recent years, The English proficiency exams have become far more normal when they are considered as one of the criteria for registering for University. While l agree that this policy would be prominent in some ways, l believe that it will contain some detrimental consequences in equal measure. On the one hand, owing foreign English certifications can be seen as positive for both students and school systems. In terms of the individual level, this new policy will enhance more opportunities for undergraduates to pass the entrance test to high schools or universities in such a competitive education environment. It can be seen that if young students desire to be matriculation at top schools, they must get almost perfect marks in three subjects. That is such a challenge for students who do not have equal ability. Thus, instead of taking exams, as usual, schoolchildren could choose international tests which are less pressure instead. From a wider perspective, the trend towards studying for exams conducted on a global scale internationally recognized certificate will result in greater prominent students for schools. There is a considerable change in education systems when there more and more international affiliate training programs are trained for local learners, which require students have a solid foundation in using English at all skills. Therefore, having an internationally recognized certificate of English is crucial and should be put as one priority criterion in the entrance examination. On the other hand, despite some outstanding points mentioned above, carrying out this policy can be witnessed from several opposite angles. Firstly rather than the positive point of taking full advantage of international learning programs, the teachers who take responsibility in teaching may experience the difficulties in income quality of freshmen which results in a harder training process. While there are some students who are proficient in the English language, the others seem awkward and struggle in dealing with tough skills such as Listening, Speaking, or Writing. Secondly, adopting this approach may contribute to unfair competition. Students who have an international certification seem to have an overweight advantage compared to other learners who do not own one. This may result in the feeling of discrimination and lead to dissatisfaction with schools and education as well. In conclusion, my opinions support the policy includes its pros in outstanding and proficient students benefits the education in particular and schools in general. Whereas, there are some considerable cons such as troublesome in training pace and increasing the uncomfortable emotions of some certain students.