Nowadays, many high schools and universities enroll students having international English language certificates. Is it a positive or negative policy?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether most high schools and universities currently admit students who have received an international English language certificate. In my opinion, it is a negative policy because it leads to unequal learning status among subjects of students and is unfair to poor students. The main reason why I disagree with this policy is that it results in uneven learning status among students' disciplines. In order to get an international certificate in English, students seem to focus only on learning English and neglect other subjects. Consequently, students will lack the basic knowledge about these subjects, which causes them to get bad marks in the semester exam at high schools. For example, my deskmate wanted to achieve band 7. 0 IELTS, therefore she was solely focused on learning English and did not pay attention to other subjects. As a result, she was an unclassified student last semester. Another reason why I do not support the policy that many high schools and universities enroll students having international English language certificates is due to the fact that it is inequitable to low-income pupils. Students who are poor or who live in areas where the media has not yet been established do not have the money or resources to attend classes or discover resources for international organizations' English tests. Additionally, the fee for international English exams is expensive. For instance, the fee of IELTS is approximately 5 million VND, which appears to be too expensive for students who do not have sufficient financial resources. In conclusion, I completely disagree with this policy because it causes unequal learning status among subjects and is inequitable to low-income students. Given this situation, it seems that high schools and universities should enroll students by organizing exams that can assess the whole quality of students’ learning and support exam expenses for students from underprivileged circumstances.