Nowadays larger distance are travelled by people to work and study on a daily basis. Some consider it to be a negative development while others disagree.

Recent decades have witnessed an increase in imported goods, raising many questions of its substantial impacts on consumers’ living standards. Although the advantages could be pronounced, they are totally outweighed by the downsides. On the one hand, it should be acknowledged that there are many benefits when it comes to imported products. First, consumers could purchase many high-quality products from other countries, which are manufactured and scrutinized in compliance with strict regulations. For example, Vietnamese citizens could consume many fresh fruits and vegetables imported from European countries instead of local ones which are mainly contaminated with carcinogenic coloring and preservatives. Second, The rise in imported products, as well as trade deals and negotiations among many countries correlates with the increased national revenues of every nation, thereby fostering the prosperity of the national economy. On the other hand, imported goods could be fraught with numerous pitfalls. First, Imported products are invariably associated with the higher demand for vehicles such as aeroplanes and trucks for delivery. This would culminate in a higher concentration of carbon dioxide and methane in the atmosphere, worsening the overall air quality. In addition, Products from other nations are usually quite exorbitant stemming from high tariff and shipping costs. It is implied that these items would beyond the reach of individuals with limited incomes and exclusively within the affordability of the ones with strong purchasing power. In conclusion, imported goods bestow more disadvantages than benefits despite some economic potential. The official authorities should undertake some initiatives to incentivise the consumption of local items for the long-term sustainability of the national economy.