Nowadays, in some countries, people are spending long hours at the workplace? Why does this happen? Is this a negative or positive trend?

Nowadays, many people are overworked due to pressure from work and daily necessities. It is obvious that modernized life leads to an increasing cost of living, people have to work overtime to make ends meet. For example, parents need to work extra hours to earn more than their base salary to afford electricity bills, their children’s tuition fees, . . . . Especially since the Covid-19 pandemic, parents have to prepare computers or smartphones for their kids to study from home. In some other cases, many young people choose to work overtime with the desire to have opportunities for career advancement. The proof that an employee is willing to stay for another few hours at work can be perceived as a sign of one's serious commitment to the job. Employers usually look for people who are hard-working and long-term. So spending more time at work can lead to promotion prospects, higher salaries and career status. However, overwork can present many problems, the most significant of which is that it can damage employees' health. When we spend too many hours on working, it is more likely that we cannot find time and energy left to take care of ourselves properly such as participating in outdoor activities, maintaining a balanced diet or getting enough sleep. As a result, overtime can cause stress, burnout, and depression. For example, Japan has the highest rate of suicide among workers, mostly men, in the world due to overwhelming work pressure. Besides, working long hours leaves them little time to spend with their friends and families. They are less likely to achieve work-life balance and will risk the well-being of their close relationships, exposing them to isolation in the future.