Nowadays, heavy traffic congestion has become a challenging problem in many cities

Nowadays, heavy traffic congestion has become a challenging problem in many cities. In this essay, I will discuss the reason behind this problem and the possible solution for traffic congestion. One of the major reasons is that the ownership of vehicles has increased in the past few years which leads to the soaring number of automobiles on roads. The vehicles are now twice many as in the past by the measure of the government. Secondly, in many cities, the infrastructure for public transport is not fully developed and it is not available for the entire day. Thirdly, many cities around the world are not built with proper planning and also there are narrow roads which obstruct people from commuting. I personally think that free public transport is certainly a great idea, but it is not a viable way to ease traffic congestion. It is true that round the clock free public transport can reduce the occurrence of traffic congestion because in most cases traffic issues are caused by the presence of a large number of private vehicles on the road. If public transport services are provided free of cost and their frequency is increased, few people will want to drive their personal vehicles. This will theoretically reduce the number of cars on the roads and ease traffic congestion. On the flip side, when there are too many takers for free public transport, buses and trains will become overcrowded. This will make the journey uncomfortable and many people will have to stand all the way. As a result, affluent commuters will choose not to use public transport. Instead, they will drive their own car to work and the traffic situation will get worse again. That is why certain measures should be taken to deal with this situation. Firstly, the government should increase the quality of public transport by providing frequent services such as improving the frequency and reliability of buses and trains. If people can ride comfortably on a bus or a train and still reach their destination on time, they will definitely consider that option. In addition to this, fares of government transportation should also be reduced in order to promote it. Another measure is to construct wide roads and bridges. so that traffic can move smoothly during peak hours. Furthermore, separate cycle lanes should be constructed and people should be encouraged to ride bicycles. Finally, major city centres or crowded places of the city must be declared car-free and fine should be imposed on those who do not follow the rules. To sum up, solving the traffic congestion problem is one of the biggest things for the government. However, by developing the public transporting system and making the rules strictly, I believe that the traffic congestion will be reduced to a certain extent.