Nowadays governments are investing more in public transport such as buses and trains rather than building new roads. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world transportation plays a crucial role in day to day life of humans. Development of public transport like trains and buses are additionally financed by the governments. However, there is a decline in road standards. I will be discussing which factor has more significance. Firstly, investing in public transport will generate revenue for the government which obviously be beneficial for the country’s economy. It is a cost-effective mean of transport which people can easily afford for their daily usage. For example, in India ‘Vande Bharat’ an express electric train was launched which can travel a longer distance in short time which is not possible using a personal vehicle. Secondly, using these means of transport is advantageous to environment as they are able to accommodate more people at once causing less pollution compared to many private vehicles. This view has its own demerits as Authorities are giving lesser preference to road development. Without the advancement of roads, it quite difficult to drive on such fragmented roadway. Even the passengers travelling in a bus or going to catch a train will experience discomfort on a tremendous road. While, on high altitude region train services are still not serviceable, and the foremost way that connects us to that area is road transport. To conclude, due to the reasons mentioned above in the essay, it is important for the government to maintain a balance in between development of roads and public transport. In my view, advantages of this outlook outweigh the disadvantages.