Nowadays, giving a sizable amount of taxes by governments in order to improve public amenities has been the subject of debate in several countries. Wh

Nowadays, giving a sizable amount of taxes by governments in order to improve public amenities has been the subject of debate in several countries. While there are persuasive arguments in favor of the issue of high taxes, I would argue that it is better for citizens to pay it and I try to support my argument in the essay below. On the one hand, there are those who subscribe to the view that paying a large amount of taxes can have some drawbacks. They insist that it can put a lot of pressure on city dwellers and they can not afford their cost of living. To facilitate this situation, people should work harder so as to pay those taxes. As a result, citizens are compelled to spend less time on recreational activities and it can reduce the efficiency of them. However, I do not find this argument valid because governments can devise a flexible tax system that matches people's income and expenditure. So they are less likely to suffer from financial problems. On the other hand, some commentators justifiably argue that giving taxes can be beneficial for people. From their point of view, governments can spend that money on constructing new facilities and improve the infrastructure of cities. With having better amenities, people have a better standard of living and it is also enjoyable for them to live in an ideal place. It is also mentioned that investing money in cities can be profitable for citizens. To clarify that, a higher-class city can attract the attention of tourists. As a result, it is a source of revenue for governments and it can lead to investments in other segments. In my personal opinion, although giving a lot of taxes might have some drawbacks, the merits of it are more prominent. It can have several positive effects on our cities by attracting tourists and make there a better place to live.