COMPARE / CONTRAST ONLINE CLASSES AND ON-CAMPUS CLASSES.

Nowadays, thanks to the advancement of technology and the industrial revolution, every aspect of human life has been improved in a positive way. In addition to the significant changes in economy, industry, agriculture…there have been several continuous signs of progress in the educational area. Specifically, in response to Covid 19 pandemic, the majority of schools in the world offer online learning platforms for their students and apply the integration of information technology to support the learning process during the pandemic. Undergraduates who are required to attend regular face-to-face settings now just need to access the available online learning links of their teachers and acquire new experience, knowledge, behavior, or skills… While the present and previous means of teaching are similar in their general form, they differ with respect to independent control and human interaction. One of the remarkable similarities between distance learning and traditional learning is that students must complete a lot of assignments given by their lecturers. Those assignments will be scored and evaluated to measure the corresponding performance of each student. Both methods of teaching require teachers as well as students the same amount of workload and effort. The teacher must show information and interact with a group of people in real-time. Moreover, they need to follow the learning schedule and curriculum syllabus as arranged such as the course examination schedule. There are many points of comparison between traditional learning and online learning. online classes differ from on-campuses classes in lack of self-discipline and motivation. In terms of online learning, students can freely sit in front of the laptop and attend learning sessions from the comfort of their homes any time of the day with the strong connection of wireless devices. Since they are not under the supervision of their teachers like a traditional class, students can complete multiple tasks at the same time. For example, it is beneficial for students who are doing part-time jobs or internships. They can allocate their time for each activity better and finish all deadlines on time. Although students can balance their coursework well, they easily get demotivated and find it challenging to pay attention in class without direct guidance from instructors. Many students spend the whole time of learning on entertaining, sleeping, and so on. This leads to being less productive on understanding lessons and wasting much time on watching records again to solve assignments. Furthermore, it cannot be denied that online learning lacks human interaction, whereas traditional learning requires high involvement and contact between professors and learners. In the physical learning environment, teachers usually gain class participation of students by raising a lot of trickly questions or practical problems for them to discuss. After that, students will present their ideas in public and receive feedback from their classmates. Due to learning style, this will boost students to improve many useful skills in presenting, negotiating, and problem-solving. For example, students in the classroom can get direct comments and satisfactory explanations from teachers, whereas online learners may not be able to do so. Moreover, students will have greater opportunities to have an in-person conversation with their professor or classmates to better understand something they have learned. Although online learning methods provide learners with many benefits in terms of cost saving, time flexibility and easy material accessibility. Some studies illustrate that students might not have good performance in online learning in compared to traditional learning based on their score and capability to conduct the final test. However, online learning is considerably considered as an effective alternative for all student during the pandemic.