Nowadays genetically modified food is widespread all over the world. While proponents of GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help to increase food supplies, others argue that their effects on health have not been studied long enough. Discuss the pros and cons of genetically modified foods, and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the surging popularity of biotech products has seen a long-term gradual tendency. Some believe this is one of the most effective ways to tackle malnutrition and it does not pose any threats to humans. Nonetheless, critics claim that there are still misconceptions around this technology’s impact on people’s well-being. This essay will examine both beneficial and adverse aspects of current tendency, and I will also explain why I think this has an extremely positive effect. To begin with, the predominant factor which detracts from the benefits of modified food sources is a lack of relevant and adequate testing results. To put it differently, scientists have not teased apart the link between genetically modified crops and potential unanticipated allergies spurred by them. As a case in point, several decades ago, a group of researchers started a project, which was aimed at generating soybeans with a set of genes pulled from Brazil nuts, for soybeans would be enriched with proteins. The altering of plants’ genetic makeup entailed the creation of allergens which took their toll on people. On the other hand, when it comes to genetically engineered crops, a nuance contributing to the positive points is that they are supposed to be a unique tool to fight against the world’s famine. Since with this technology it is possible to transfer virtually any special traits from a donor-organism to a transgenic one, people have an opportunity to produce plants, which are resistant to such possessing environmental issues like drought or soil depletion. Thus, farmers living in the areas suffering from the constant poor crops’ yields can redesign their conventional agricultural system and get an adequate amount of nutrition from acreages planted with biotech plants. In conclusion, the altering of people’s understanding towards genetically engineered foods is all too familiar nowadays. Despite the fact that this can potentially exacerbate human’s health, I strongly believe that biotech foodstuffs are the field of promise as they could help to provide the sufficient amount of nutrition for the burgeoning population, and more digging needs to be done to analyse their beneficial characteristics and possibilities.