Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Others believe that it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The quote “bird of same feather flock together” is widely used to describe friendships. There are those who believe that its often beneficial to have companions who compatible and think alike while others opine that it is more advantageous to have mates with different opinions. Before presenting my views, I intend to explore both sides of the arguments. Firstly, individuals are always attracted to people who have similar interests like sports, education and so on. People tend to feel secure with someone who share their views and opinions as they are less likely to argue. As they mostly have common goals, they are more compatible with each other. An illustration of this can be, people often join clubs of similar interest and find friends in the same circle. On the other hand, it is also useful to have friends whose opinion differs from as they push individuals to think harder and justify reasoning rather than simply agreeing with them. Acquaintances with people from different backgrounds and interest as they give knowledge from their perspective. To exemplify, when buying a house, it is important to weigh the pros and cons from every sides. Moreover, one can get ample ideas and suggestions when one’s friends has different viewpoints. To recapitulate, in my opinion, friendships of all kinds are valuable to a person. I think it is favourable for people to have friends from both sides, ones who accord with them and ones who have diverse opinions. This will enable them to take a uniform decision rather than relying on someone who thinks alike.