Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

In recent years, the portrait of a youthful stick-thin dame has been fostered by mass media. From my point of view, this tendency entails several social problems with ladies and severely aggravates their position in society. The following essay will examine the complications spurred by this movement and possible ways to tackle the issues. To begin with, the surging popularity of young slim women comes together with such possessing difficulties like ageism at the workplaces and female health degradation. First of all, as mass medium reinforces age-related stereotypes, it has become harder for the female community dames to build a long-lasting career and age gracefully. As a case in point, the BBC company has announced that it is replacing a well-known 60-years old radio presenter with a new youthful broadcaster for a popular sport’s programme. Moreover, beauty standards imposed by the media industry make myriad women concerned about their appearance, and it leads to inadequate and harmful measures, as numerous women feel immense pressure to lose weight. To be specific, after scrolling a tonne of celebrities’ photos on Instagram, ladies struggle with their body dissatisfaction, therefore they start an unhealthy and unbalanced diet, which often entails malnutrition. As for me, the most effective options to fight with lookism and ageism dictated by social channels are to support aging women for their career paths and promote the diversity of natural beauty. As society has been underestimating the contribution of mature females, companies must develop special programmes to help them to maintain their employment even after they have passed the defined age. In addition, to boost women’s satisfaction with their body shape, the media industry must alter the beauty norms. To illustrate this point, Victoria Secret has launched a project which is aimed at changing peoples’ understanding of an ideal body, for this reason they have invited a variety of models from different weight categories for their fashion shows. In conclusion, for several decades, the icon of a skinny and young female person has been actively encouraged by the media. This tendency spurs such a problem as aged women discrimination at work, and it also poses a threat to their health as it pushes ladies to follow a radical and unhealthy diet. Had the media industry and society supported women of all categories at their workplaces and in their social life, it would have drastically improved females' position in society.