Nowadays, fewer young people are willing to consider a career in teaching. What do you think are the causes of this? What can the government do to encourage young people to become teachers?

It is true that nowadays, fewer young people choose teaching as their profession. This can be explained by some reasons and several solutions can be implemented to deal with the problems. Teachers often receive lower salaries compared to those of other professions. For example, the salary of a senior teacher in my country is around one-fifth that of an entry-level job in other fields such as banking or law. When taking into account the relatively low rate of pay for teaching, many young people might aim for another job. The simple way to solve this is for a country’s government, which is usually the largest employer of public sector workers including teaching, to raise salaries for teachers, especially those just starting in the professions. Online courses have become more prevalent, which means the demand for teaching in traditional classrooms is likely to decrease and many teachers would be made redundant. Seeing a dark, predictable future in which there would be fewer career prospects and lower job security when pursuing teaching, many new university graduates would probably opt for a different profession. To deal with this, governments should put emphasis on the superior role of teachers to computers in terms of imparting knowledge to students and the high demand for teachers to make study materials for online classes. In conclusion, low incomes and the advent of e-learning can be used to explain the decreasing number of young people choosing to become a teacher. However, governments can increase teachers’ salaries and portray a more positive image of teaching to encourage more young people to go into the profession.