the use of smartphones is decreasing our collective intellegence

Smartphones are everywhere. But do we really require them? Since we are becoming more dependent on technology for our day-to-day tasks, we use less of our own minds I absolutely agree that we are becoming reliant on technology without even realizing. In the 90s or before cellphones and the internet became common, students used to go to library to research and broaden their knowledge. Nowadays, we are just a click away from having all resources in our hands. They do not feel the urge to spend some time in researching and getting a deep knowledge of their subjects. Adults also now do not need to keep anything in their mind, just a remainder needs to added on their phones. Some people do not even remember phone numbers in case of emergencies. This surely is directly related to a decrease in our memory capacity. Children prefer to play football in video games rather to play it with their friends in the ground, which enhances their physical activity. So, a child’s social and mental wellbeing and behavior is affected. While they know how to chat, it seems difficult to them to talk to people in person. Concluding my essay, I would say that we need to use technology as a helping hand but not be dependent on it. I believe that if technology is used appropriately, it is a boon.