Nowadays, Fewer People Tend To Look After Their Old Relatives And Send Them To Old Age Homes

In this modern era, majority of the adult children admit their elderly people in an old homecare facility as they are unable to take full responsibility of taking care of their senior relatives. Abandoning their beloved old parents has been in practice, worldwide, especially in the western countries. As far as my viewpoint is concerned, this practice is absolutely inappropriate as long as you have sufficient resources to keep them under your care. Reasons are stated below. Firstly, older parents crave their loved ones’ attention only, as they age with each passage of time. Besides, they seek affection from their grandchildren also. In addition to that, the staff at old age homes can never provide such intense care and attachment as they may receive from their own blood relations. For example, in a country like Pakistan, adult children seldom send their elderly relatives to a caring center as majority of them are aware of a unique relationship they possess with their senior members. Regardless of what the circumstances are, I believe that giving up on your old family members, especially during the time when they need us the most, is absolutely unethical. Secondly, if the old parents are sent to the old-care house, they become emotionally unstable as they are not around their beloved family members. The homesickness leads them to become mentally absent in every situation and ultimately, they tend to stop focusing on eating and speaking. On the contrary, a few people have no financial means to afford their aged parents or grandparents. Consequently, they are left with no choice but to send their senior member to a caring center. To conclude this, elderly relatives constantly want our care and attention. Moreover, they also wish to stay mentally healthy by living with their close family members. Therefore, my overall opinion is that people should not abandon their old parents and be there for them both emotionally and physically, until they live amongst us.