Nowadays, families are not eating together on a daily basis. Why? Is it negative or positive development?

In recent years, more and more families don’t spend time having meals together on a daily basis. There are several reasons for this situation and it can lead to a variety of negative effects on family life and wellbeing. Some family members no longer share mealtimes as they used to do because of two main reasons. Firstly, many parents have been facing with economic pressures. They are always as busy as a bee with their hectic schedule so they have no time or cannot come home early to have meals with their children. Particularly, it is almost impossible for one-parent family to arrange a meal that all family members can sit together. Secondly, eating at a table is uncomfortable for some children, especially impatient and mischievous ones. Some parents now are spoiling their offspring by allowing them to watch TV, use the phone, play games or play toys while eating I believe the increase in the number of family members who do not take meals with their family is a negative trend. One justification could be that such a tendency could cause the close-knit family to be disappeared. If children, for example, do not often take food with their parents, they cannot share news, get guidance or advice, or make plans. Importantly, children will feel alone and miss out on the emotional support family can provide. Moreover, in terms of children’s health, medical specialists consider family meals necessary to provide all the family members with a healthier diet. For instance, youngsters are very easy to get obese or have digestive problems if they are usually left to have snacks, junk food or processed food. In conclusion, the decline in shared family meals results from plenty of reasons which can give rise to a number of different factors and my belief is that this is a negative development.