Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days it is believed that in order for you to be successful in your career you should be experienced rather than being knowledgeable. I personally agree with this statement, however, there are some advantages and disadvantages which will be discussed in this essay. The first point to be taken into account focuses on the drawbacks of people not being able to achieve a success without the required qualification for the job. What I mean is that when applying for a job candidates must provide a certificate which contains information about their educational background. However, their skills and grades might just be falsely listed on the documents and therefore the candidates might not be familiar at all with what they are expected to do. Having said that however, I feel that a considerable benefit is that when you are experienced in the current job you know specifically what you have to do. For instance, pilots of planes must have a background in this career in order to fly bigger planes. Additionally, they must provide certificates for finished professional education, however, the experience captains have is a much more important factor. Also, another huge advantage supporting experience in the workplace is that companies hire people who already know what to do. That way employers would be able to save money from training the staff. This is the so called ‘win-win’ situation due to the fact workers would enjoy their new occupation and show everyone what they have studied in university. To sum up, both knowledge and experience are essential for a company, however, in my opinion past experience is the more crucial factor.