In some cultures, older people are valued most highly. In other cultures, youth is valued more than experience.

Values define the way of living life. A certain set of cultures, value older people the highest, whereas in other cultures the young generation is considered at par when compared to older people with maturity. Both views have of their own viewpoint that’s why a thorough analysis is required before choosing any side. Countries like India and Pakistan have this culture where older people are valued the most because they have seen adverse and difficult situations in both personal and professional life and know how to overcome them. They are laden with experience. For example, older people can help younger generation by motivating and guiding them to make better choices in life. Be it choosing a life partner or investing in a business, experience always counts. Older people are the torch bearers for the values and traditions which are still followed at present. For instance, the act of touching the feet of elders and doing ‘Namaste’ have been taught to us, only by the elders. On the other hand, countries like China and Japan have the culture of giving more value and importance to the youth. This can be attributed to that fact that the young generation is full of energy and zeal and they can work quickly and rate of production is higher when compared to the time when older people did the same work. For example, the majority age group of people in the manufacturing units in Japan are from the age group 25 to 35 and the rate of production is almost double when older people used to work in factories. Another reason why youth is valued more in such societies is because they have a futuristic thought process. For instance, youth in China are being motivated and sponsored to develop groundbreaking technologies in the field of healthcare and astronomy. The older people are thought to be less technically aware and consequently, the preference is always the youth. Both youth and older people are an integral part of the community that we live in, hence it becomes imperative that they support each other. Nonetheless, I believe that older people should be valued the most because they have wisdom and already been through the life stage of a youth. Youth can be valued for their futuristic thinking and sustainable approach, but the value taught by older people tells about the way to live a life.