Nowadays culture is much the same all around the world compared to previous times. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, unlike the past, many cultures have become similar to each other. In my view, it can have a negative impact on society as every culture should have their unique traditions. To begin with, the main reason that I believe assimilation of cultures can harm the society is that people can pick up some bad habits of other nations. In other words, now many celebrities and politicians from Western countries seem to be playing bad role models both for their people and other nations, which causes foreigners to follow their examples and customs. This would destroy their own beliefs and harm their society. Another point to consider is that identical culture might cause arguments and even wars. That is to say, not all people would agree to the same customs as some solely follow their own traditions, and when they are forced to do it, outbreak of arguments might not be avoided. Therefore, people should not assimilate their cultures as it can bring a lot of harm. In contrast, there are some people who claim that having similar lifestyles may benefit the government to some extent. They point out that common traditions can cause globalization which may give access to foreign cultures, including food, movies, music and art. In addition, it would probably enable people to utilize new technology and innovation and in a way, I think it makes sense. Nonetheless, these examples are not the norm and they will be useless if there is a quarrel among people. In conclusion, even though some people believe resemblance of culture can often help people, I strongly feel that it would not be a good idea as most people have their own beliefs which they would not change anyway.