Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people?

In recent times, the largest proportion of visitors to museums and historical places are not local residents, but foreigners. Although there might be some reasons for this, essential measures can be taken to interest more locals in visiting historical sites and galleries. On the one hand, there are two main factors that contribute to the lack of interest in museums in citizens, unlike tourists. One of them might be the fact that many local residents might have already known their cultures and seen historical places several times. That is to say, they could have more important jobs to do rather than visiting the same place again and again, while tourists would have a passion to explore new museums and find out about the history of other cultures. Another main reason could be that by the development of technologies and gadgets, the interest to visit heritage sites and galleries might have been lost in most people. For example, almost 80% of all people in the UK spend most of their time on social media websites such as Instagram and Facebook, when instead of it, they could pay more attention to their history and museums. As a result, engaging people in visiting historical landmarks as well as museums often seems to be impossible. Even though it might seem hard to attract local people to different historical sites and exhibitions, there could still be some ways to solve this problem. Firstly, universities, schools, kindergartens, and companies could organize several trips for children, students and employees to historical sites and museums every year. This would probably draw most people's attention to the importance of museums and their country's history as those trips would be held in groups. Secondly, museums and historical sites could involve more unusual and uncommon items in their exhibitions and galleries. Undoubtedly, this would attract not only tourists, but also a lot of citizens as they would be highly interested in those items. Therefore, the world view and respect of locals towards the past would be changed positively which would be beneficial to society. – this paragraph has all the elements of 7+ essay In conclusion, despite some reasons why the number of museum and historical landmark visitors contains more tourists than residents, the cooperation of principals and making sites more uncommon would be effective ways to tackle this issue.