Nowadays, co-educational schools are an ideal choice for many parents and children around the world

Nowadays, co-educational schools are an ideal choice for many parents and children around the world. However, this kind of school has both benefits and drawbacks, which affect directly students’ life. On the on hand, studying in mixed schools brings many advantages to children. First of all, the mixed school provides a superb environment and opportunity for both sexes to develop. For example, male and female students may become more confident and comfortable in dealing with the opposite sex without being shy or embarrassed. Co-educational environment enhances children’s socializing skills and avoids sexism and discrimination in the future between two genders. Gender discrimination in schools and society can be solved through educational measures in mixed schools, especially in Arab countries where women’s rights are seriously violated. On the other hand, mixed schools also have several restrictions that may affect negatively students. Mixed-gender schools can create problems with sexual distraction. For instance, students in puberty are likely to be attracted by friends of the opposite sex and sometimes this leads to poor performance at school. Moreover, due to differences in biological features, this structure forces students to learn in unnatural ways. For instance, the curriculum attempts to equalize boys and girls to learn through the same process can impact the learning opportunities for both because they have to expose to methods that are not suitable for their needs. In conclusion, learning in mixed school have negative and positive aspects. We should take it into consider, before choosing any kind of school.