Nowadays, city-dwellers are more and more concerned about traffic accidents when this problem is increasingly serious in big cities. What are the main causes of this problem? Suggest some solutions.

In today’s society, most people want to live in the city because of its convenience and modernity. However, there are still lots of inconvenient conditions and dangers that cause the city-dwellers’ concern. And one of the most severe problems in many countries is traffic accidents. This writing would examine the main causes of this matter and suggest some solutions. There are two main causes of traffic accidents in big cities. First of all is the involvement of the drunk drivers. Consuming too much alcohol before driving is illegal and extremely dangerous. Many drivers often make the mistake of thinking that if their blood alcohol content is below the legal limit, then they are safe to drive. But the truth is that until their bodies have metabolized the alcohol they have consumed, their sight, motor coordination, and judgment will all suffer from at least some degree of impairment that increases the risk of them getting into a collision. Another reason for this issue is the unsafe road environments, which refer to external factors uncontrollable by drivers, such as visibility impairment by darkness, slippery surface, insufficient safety facilities, inadequately repaired vehicles, pedestrians or other vehicles that suddenly get in the way. To tackle this problem, it is high time timely actions were taken to help minimize the number of traffic accidents in big cities. One alternative is imposing heavier fines at the drivers who exceed the permitted alcohol consumption. Utilising technology and installing devices that detect drunk drivers and lock car ignition can be used to keep people with a track record of drunk driving off the roads. Furthermore, people drivers should be better educated and more careful while behind the wheel. To be more specific, people should learn to obey road rules and respect the other drivers instead of causing tension or submitting to road rage. Last but not least, safer and wider roads should be constructed to make for easier and more comfortable driving. In conclusion, the sooner measures are taken, the lower rate of traffic accidents will be. And of course the city-dwellers' quality of life would also be much better.