Nowadays children prefer electronic games to other games and toys? Why is it happening? is it a positive or negative development?

Technology has affected each and every section of life, starting from education, business and ways of living. Likewise, there is a considerable change in the choice of games played. lately, children are more inclined towards electronic games than conventional television plays. Although, this preference is justifiable but it is not at all a positive development Lack of playgrounds and open spaces is the prime reason, because majority of population is shifting to cities to attain better lifestyles but houses in urban area are so congested that there is no scope of playing any outdoor games so they have to opt for electronic games. Secondly, online games are programmed on the principle of reward system, where players are offered virtual gifts after completing each level which motivates them to play again to receive high points. Lack of social skils, on the other hand, is the prime negative consequence of computerised games, because youngsters are highly influenced by virtual world of sports entertainment that they are neither interactive with others nor inquisitive about societal issues. To substantiate my view, it is commonly seen that students discuss about trending games and their progress in those games, oblivious to national affairs and currrent issues. Moreover, internet games are addictive resulting in wastage of precious time which can be spent in a constructive ways. It is evident by significant drop in the academic grades of students. Another demerit is hazardous effect on sensory and motor functions owing to emission of harmful radiations from mobile and computer screens. So poor physical health is also cause of concern. To sum up, albeit computerised games are essential part of contemporary world yet its disadvantages supersedes the advantages. Ergo, playing such games should be minimised.