Nowadays, children play less with others and this has an impact on their development. What are the reasons for this? Does it have a good or bad effect on children?

The decreasing amount of time spent for socialization has become more and more common among children, which is believed by many to have an influence on their early development. The causes of this phenomenon are varied, and in my opinion this is adversely affecting the young generation as a whole. Two main reasons are identified as children’s present academic pressure and the appeal of high technology applications. Firstly, children are too occupied with their current studies along with stress and responsibility. Parents always hope their sons and daughters to be successful and, in some cases, compel them to overwork, which may result in the excessive deduction of their time on social interactions. Secondly, the rapid technological modernization which engenders many attractive sources of entertainment, videos games and social network like Facebook for example, is deemed the second root of the phenomenon. Children may get addicted to those virtual means with ease, hence the negligence on real life relationships establishment. This trend, as a matter of fact, is having severe influences on the overall development of children. In terms of their social life, not only their circle of acquaintances but their soft skills such as communication and interpersonal skills are highly limited, which would hinder their future career paths. More importantly, some mental illnesses may be the cost of their seclusion from other people. That they use their time mostly for studying purposes renders them unable to leave their desk to associate with others, leading to a deteriorating sedentary lifestyle or even autism, for instance. In conclusion, the effects of this trend can be seen as negative concerning with children’s social lives deterioration and other diseases. Understanding that the origins of the problem mainly come from studying strain and tempting modern applications, parents should take immediate remedial steps to resolve such problems.