Nowadays, children have a tendency to spend more hours on watching TV. What are the advantages and disadvantages of watching television for children?

Many people hold a belief that the young nowadays waste more time watching TV than in the past. This trend can be attributed to several reasons and it must be tackled by drastic and apparent measures. This essay will look at some benefits and drawbacks which are related to this tendency. Initially, it is undeniable that watching TV has several benefits. When it comes to the first advantage, watching some educational channels namely National Geographic, Discovery, and so on…. could supply children with knowledge about various fields in life. As a consequence, they could not only expand their horizons but they are able to foster critical thinking as well, which betters their intellectual skills. In terms of the second benefit, watching foreign films and programs with numerous conversations conducted by indigenous people, might help them familiarize themselves with native pronunciation and accents. This is a golden chance to improve linguistic skills, especially listening and speaking skills in a natural way However, it is essential that uncontrolled television watching could lead to many predicaments. Considering the main problem, when being exposed to violent and sexually explicit scenes, children may be inclined to be more aggressive and impressionable. For instance, by taking off those actions children can get themselves or others hurt without unaware of the consequences. Should children be addicted to watching TV, they could not end up watching it for hours, which not only causes a sedentary lifestyle, health implications including eye strains, obesity but they aren also distracted from their study. In a word, currently, children tend to watch television on a daily basis, there are some strongpoints as to this trend, however, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of it.