Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people.

Fame and fortune are largely dependent on the hard-work, persistence, luck and creativity displayed by individuals of a society. These qualities often make them very famous and popular that the whole nation becomes anxious and curious just to get their glimpse or an autograph. Few people believe that people are popular due to their glamour and rich lifestyle. They claim that youngsters should not follow their footprint because they may lead them astray and I don’t agree fully with this proclamation. This essay will analyse the merits and demerits of idealising celebrities before presenting a conclusion. Famous people such as movie or sports stars can be a role model for the young people of a society. Idealising and treating them as their idol can help them to achieve their required goal in life. Following their footprints can result in exploring their own talent which can further showcase marvels and brilliance. Their creativity, innovation and display of their skills and abilities inspire adolescents to bring change in their life for good. For instance, legendary Amir Khan, the famous Bollywood celebrity, is known for his inspirational and creative movies but  not for his wealth or attractive personality. Adolescents copying his qualities and attributes have promoted strong moral and ethical values in a society. On the contrary, few people believe that following superstars and famous people displaying negativity can mislead young people of our society. Proponents of this viewpoint believe that inspiring from their negative roles and displaying the same act at home or in streets can have a severe impact on the society. Moreover, celebrities are often found in smoking advertisements, charged with drugs and other criminal activities, youth following their path can result in the destruction of ethical values of a society. For instance, Sanjay Dutt, Bollywood Actor is well known for his money and roles as a villain, his terrorist acts in different movies have given rise to violence and crime in streets of Mumbai, all these were committed by adolescents for thrill and adventure. To recapitulate, the aforementioned provides plausible arguments in favour of both views. There is no doubt that famous people have their influence, as youth is not mature and in the growing phase of their life. However, one should not criticise the celebrities as it depends on the young people how they perceive and take it forward.