Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people.

At present, celebrities are well-known because of the image of glamour and fortune associated with them, not because of their accomplishments, so according to some, this sets a bad paradigm to young people. In my opinion, I strongly disagree that celebrities set a bad example to young people as celebrities do not ask people to worship them. A good reason to not take celebrities as role models is that a celebrity’s role in society is to entertain people, not to set a moral example for young people. For example, celebrities generally want to gain a lot of publicity and achieve fame. Therefore, they want always to be in the spotlight because this is the sole purpose of their job. To cite an example, a movie star in Egypt mentioned in one of his interviews that young people should think twice before imitate other’s behaviors because people always don’t pay any attention to their behaviors in public in many cases. Another point to consider is that, like everyone else, celebrities may have moral shortcomings and make the wrong life choices. Young people don’t know the concept that celebrities make mistakes like us. Due to the lack of experience that young people have, they see celebrities as positive role models in their life to help them to live with hope, integrity, and compassion. As a result, if one of their role models did something wrong; they blindly copy his/her action without thoroughly thinking. For example, a famous football player committed suicide last week because of his financial worries, and consequently, three of his fans were trying to kill themselves by committing suicide as well. Finally, parents, teachers, and scientists rather than celebrities should be role models in our society. These people have tremendous positive effects on people’s behaviors. Young people can learn from their parents, how to be more dedicated, and how to behave responsibly in public. Furthermore, young people should be taught that they can be very successful and a very good person at the same time, such as scientists. For instance, Ahmed Zewail, who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his work in femtochemistry, should be taken as a positive role model for our children. Moreover, teachers, scientists, and parents are needed to compensate for the lack of positive role models among politicians and business people. In conclusion, while celebrities are responsible for their actions and they did not ask young people to take them as role models, there are some people ought to be taken as a moral example such as scientists and parents.