In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

In some countries, it is thought by some people that renting a home is more preferable than purchasing them. People can easily move from one apartment to another if they are renting their houses, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. Firstly, one evident benefit of renting an apartment is that people can relocate more easily for work or even they can downsize when money is short. For example, workers are exposed to different opportunities in their field of works, and they always are dreaming about the work that will give them a high salary, and therefore, renting a home will facilitate the resettlement. Secondly, renting a house would be advantageous because it is more economical than buying a house. In this case, people are not obligated to borrow money from banks to pay their monthly mortgage payments. Thirdly, the landlord is utterly responsible for repairs and maintenance, not the tenant. To cite an example, I was living in a renting apartment last year, and the air conditioner showed some anomalies. As a result, I emailed the landlord to send one of their technicians to fix it. Otherwise, if I owned the apartment; I will be responsible for any repairs because I am the real owner of the house. On the other hand, one problem of renting a house is that the tenant would not be able to renovate and decorate the property. To put it another way, the decoration of the walls sometimes is too old, and to remove it, the tenant needs prior permission from the owner, as it makes you feel that you do not have a free will to do what you want with your home. Another possible issue is that renting a house makes the tenant unsecured because the landlord can ask the resident to leave the property at any time. For instance, one of my neighbors was asked to move from his apartment by the owner because he was late in paying the rent, and the landlord did not give him any time even to find another apartment. Finally, the rent will increase every year because home prices are changing drastically from year to another due to the high demands of buying houses. Consequently, people who are renting homes will be forced to move frequently, and this will lead to instabilities. In conclusion, while people can benefit from renting a home, it can also lead to insecurity and instability to the tenant.