Nowadays, being a host country for a global sports event has been a

Nowadays, being a host country for a global sports event has been a controversial topic. While there are benefits for a country to host an international sport event, I am more inclined towards some negative problems caused by such these events. On the one hand, the option to organize an international sports competition is attractive for several reasons. Firstly, if a country hosts sports event such as olympic, national economic well-being could be fostered. It is because once international sports event is held, a large number of visitors from all over the world will visit the host country, entailing many services such as hotel or airlines. As a result, businesses can benefit greatly, which also increases the national economic development. Secondly, since this is an important event which receives a huge attention from people around the world, the host country can take advantage of this opportunity to promote their profiles. This means that after this sports event, this country may have a good reputation and appeal others for some economic investments, leaving a potential chance to develop the country. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that there are a variety reasons why hosting an international event is disadvantageous for a country. The primary reason is that the preparation and organization stage may require a huge amount of national budget. Consequently, there may be a lack of money to invest in other fields such as education or health care, affecting residents’ living condition. Another reason is that since there are a lot of international visitors coming to enjoy the sports event, higher crim rate is inevitable. In fact, it is hard for the government to control all the arrival of visitors during the event so that criminals have chances to commit a crime such as robbery or drug dealing, which causes serious security problems for not only local residents but also other visitors. In conclusion, although both views have some validity, it seems to me that it is better not to host any global sport event to avoid severe impacts on national economy as well as security.